University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign logo

Quick links

E-mail and search functions


Watch the August 21, 2017 Eclipse with Illinois Astronomers!

Upcoming Events

    View calendar

    Picture of the Day

    Astronomy picture of the day

    Star Cluster, Spiral Galaxy, Supernova

    Astronomy picture of the day

    Star of the Week

    • MU AUR (Mu Aurigae)

      Fifth magnitude (4.86, almost fourth) Mu Aurigae sits in somewhat lonely splendor in western Auriga within the confines of the main pentagonal figure two or three degrees south-southeast of the Kids. Perhaps "splendor" is too strong a word for the star. 

      ... Full Details


    Job Openings

    The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Astronomy Department is a research-oriented unit with broad interests, from the cosmic microwave background to the origin of the Moon. We are always seeking to identify prospective faculty members at all ranks. If you are interested in Illinois Astronomy, see our Job Openings page.


    You-Hua Chu, Dom Segura-Cox, Brian Fields


    • Dom Segura-Cox Wins Chu Award

      Dom Segura-Cox has won the 2017 Mr. and Mrs. Hsiang-Pai and Wen-Hua Chu Department of Astronomy Excellence in Research Graduate Student Award. Congratulations, Dom! ...
    • Cooking the Universe

      Prof. Felipe Menanteau and the Dark Energy Survey team use supercomputers to map the Universe and find its ingredients. ... Full Details
    • Astronomy on Tap is One Year Old

      Astronomy on Tap, the popular outreach event sponsored by the Astronomy Department, recently celebrated its one-year anniversary. Read more about it ... Full Details
    • Vieira Wins Sloan Fellowship

      Joaquin Vieira, an assistant professor of astronomy and of physics at the University of Illinois and a faculty affiliate at the National Center for Computing Applications (NCSA) has been named a Sloan Research Fellow for 2017. ... Full Details

    View news archive